Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

New Website for All College Committees

Academic Senate Charge

The Academic Senate's primary responsibility is for making recommendations in the areas of curriculum and academic standards at the College.

The Academic Senate is the representative body for Los Angeles Southwest College faculty consisting primarily of elected senators.

As the official voice of the faculty in matters of campus-wide concern, LASC's Academic Senate provides the means for faculty to participate in the shared governance of the college. It strives to further the academic mission and integrity of the college as a community of scholars and professionals dedicated to providing an environment for quality learning. The Senate acts as a whole, or in committees and task forces, to address a wide range of academic, professional and administrative issues. These include the primary concerns of representing the faculty of LASC in all academic and professional matters and seeking to support the mission, vision, and values of LASC.

Spring 2020 Academic Senate Meeting Schedule 

SoCTE MPR, 127 Every 2nd and 4th Tuesday of the month from 11:30am – 1:00pm

February 11th/February 25th/March 10th/March 24th/April 14th/April 28th/May 12th/May 26th
Academic Senate Executive Board - Spring 2020

Office Name
Contact Information
President Robert L. Stewart Jr.
Allison Moore
Sabrena Turner-Odom 
Lauren Evans
Katrina Taylor
Chair of Chairs Jonathan Bremen
Past President Naja El -Khoury
DAS Representative Stephanie Arms-Gradington

DAS Representative Joanne Grey
DAS RepresentativeYancy Duncan
Adjunct Representative Jessica

Academic Senate Faculty Senators 


Arts and Humanities
Yancy Duncan

Behavioral & Social Sciences
Maisha Jones
Majid Haghoo
Child Development
La Shawn Brinson

Christina Gonzalez
Jeff Bohn

Parisa Samaie
Lernik Saakian
Natural Sciences, Kinesiology, and Health
Heidi Tatum
Catherine Azubuike

​​Non-Credit, Adult Ed, ESL
​Susan Lyons

​​At Large Senator: Full Time
Sandra Lee

At Large Senator: Full Time
Jessica Drawbond

At Large Senator: Part Time Imran Siddiqui