Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Distance Education: Our Mission

To support online success and retention by ensuring uniformity in terms of Learning Management Systems (LMS) and online instructor responsibility and accountability, according to the American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Contract (Article 40). The Distance Learning Mission is congruent with the college mission because it facilitates student success and appeals to a diverse community where some students need online access to courses and programs.

Committee Charge

The committee is charged with the following:

1.  Supporting instructors with resources, workshops, seminars, and webinars

2.  Maintaining contact and communication with IT Department and Learning Management System support services

3.  Reviewing the Distance Learning Policies and Procedure Manual each semester

4.  Determining proficiency in a CMS and shall serve as a resource to the college on distance learning issues.

5.  Making assignments and evaluating faculty remain the responsibility of the department chair (AFT Agreement, Article 40         Section B.2).

The Distance Education Meeting is from 10 a.m. to 11:20 a.m. on the third Monday of the month. Location: Cox 212

Distance Education Committee Membership

NameTitle/Committee Representation
 Travis Du Bry
Co-Chair/ DE Coordinator (Faculty)

Layla AguileraClassified
Kristi BlackburnDean of Distance Education
 Jonathan BremenAcademic Senate
 Elizabeth FlowersAcademic Senate
 Christina Gonzalez
  Steven Katz 

Steven Kemble
Academic Senate

Carolyn Magee
Niladri MantenaAcademic Senate

Jorge Mata
IT/Ex Oficio

Kimberly McBride

Parisa Samaie
Jessica Saint-Paul
Academic Senate

Imran Siddiqui
Academic Senate

Heidi Tatum
Traci Tippens Classified