Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

New Website for All College Committees

Committee Charge

The Curriculum Committee is a sub-committee of the Academic Senate. As such, its Functions and Membership are defined by the Constitution of the Los Angeles Southwest College Academic Senate, approved in May 1995 and amended in April 2007.

Below is the Fall 2020 Curriculum Committee meeting dates:

      • Thursday September 24, 2020 from 11:30am to 1:00pm – Zoom
      • Thursday October 22, 2020 from 11:30am to 1:00pm – Zoom 
      • Thursday November 12, 2020 from 11:30pm to 1:00pm – Zoom
      • Thursday December 10, 2020 from 11:30am to 1:00pm – Zoom
This committee shall be responsible for:
1. Approval or rejection of new courses and programs.
2. Approval or rejection of new majors.
3. Changes in course requirements for a major or certificate program.
4. Changes in unit value of any course.
5. Review of existing courses and programs.
6. Listing IGETC courses.
7. Review course prerequisites and co-requisites.
8. Review of general education pattern for both Associate of Arts degree and for certification to the CSU and UC system.
9. Approval, exclusion, review, and revision of any program that uses
courses taught at this college.

Curriculum Committee Membership

"All Department Chairpersons or their representatives shall serve on the committee as voting members, as well as the following individuals: Articulation Officer, voting member; Matriculation Coordinator, voting member; Non-Credit Program Coordinator, voting member; Institutional Researcher, non-voting member. The Chairperson of the Committee shall serve on the District Curriculum Committee. The Vice-President and Deans of Academic Affairs are ex-officio members of the committee and shall serve as designated by the college president."
                                                                                                         -- Academic Senate Constitution, April 2007


Dr. Tangelia Alfred Curriculum Dean*
Dr. Naja El-Khoury Curriculum Chair

Parisa Samaie Chair: Library

Dr. Allison Moore Chair: Computer Science & Business & SLO Coordinator

LaShawn Brinson Chair: Child Development

Dr. Katrin Wilson Chair: Counseling

Dr. Katrina Taylor Chair: Developmental Communications
  Dr. Jeffrey Bohn Chair: English and Foreign Languages
  Dr. Lernik Saakian Chair: Mathematics

Dr. Kang Kim Chair: Natural Sciences, Health & Physical Education
  Dr. Catherine Azubuike Chair: Nursing and Allied Health
  Dr. Katrin Wilson Articulation Officer
  Prof. Jonathan Evans Co-Chair: SLO 
  Shauna Carter Classified: Matriculation*
  Prof. Marian Ruane Coordinator: Non-Credit Program
  Dr. Sabrena Turner-Odom Director: Student Success Center
  Robert Stewart  Academic Senate President
  Dr. Majid Haghoo
Faculty: Business / CSIT
  Zekarias Dammena Faculty: Mathematics
  Dr. Sandra Lee AFT
  Vacant ASO Student Representative*
  Dr. Howard Irvin
Vice President: Student Services*
  Dr. Lawrence Bradford
Vice President: Academic Affairs*
  Vacant Academic Affairs*
                                                                    *Non-voting Positions